Low Doc CheckCheck my readiness

How long do you need an ABN to get a home loan? Lender rules (2026)

Facts checked 27 October 2026

The rule of thumb is two years of tax returns, but published minimums range from six months (alt-doc lenders) to two years. Here’s what each lender says on its own site.

See where you stand in 5 minutesFree self-check against lenders’ published rules. No credit check.

Published minimums

As published by each lender on the date above.

LenderMinimum timeNotes
WestpacABN 2 years in most cases; GST 12 months may be requiredDoesn’t offer low-doc loans; a 1-year assessment is available up to 80% LVR (credit score 650+)
ANZABN/ACN registered 18 months2 years if income is director’s fees or dividends
BankwestABN/ACN 18 monthsUp to 80% LVR
NAB1 year of financials consideredUp to 80% LVR; 2 years of returns standard
Macquarie2 years trading1 year for self-employed professionals, up to 80% LVR
AMP2 yearsLow-doc product closed to new borrowers
Pepper Money (non-bank)6 months ABN & GST (alt-doc)BAS, bank statements or accountant’s letter; 80% LVR to $5m, 95% to $3m
Liberty (non-bank)Not stated (low-doc)Up to 85% LVR; bank statements, BAS or accountant’s declaration
La Trobe (non-bank)Not stated (lite-doc)80% LVR to $5m; accountant’s letter, trading statements or BAS

Each lender’s published criteria as at 27 October 2026, from its own website. This is not a comparison or a recommendation: not every lender was checked, and lenders change these terms often.

Full-doc beats alt-doc when you can

Alt-doc loans cost more and cap the LVR. If you’re a few months from lodging your second tax return, waiting can open up the major banks — our check shows how many more lenders that would unlock.

Sources